"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The article mainly concerned about the skateboarders in Central Plaza that were assumed to be the cause of the decreasing number of shoppers. While it may be true, the arguments does not convincingly persuade the readers that the skateboarders are the real culprit of the declining visitors.

According to the argument, the number of shoppers has been decreasing while the number of skateboarders has been increasing. It sounds very vague since the article did not mention where the claim came from. None of the sentence explained whether the claim was coming from a trusted survey organization or from one of the shop owners' opinion. The number of the decreasing shoppers could be due to bad economic situation that prevented people from shopping. Or it could be due to the opening of the newer shopping place that offered a better price and attracted most of Central Plaza's customers.

The decreasing number of customers definitely affected the income of the Plaza itself. Less income meant less manpower that the Plaza could afford. The manpower who dealt with security and cleanliness would be lesser in terms of number, thus creating an impression of a not properly maintained place, such as increased number of littering and vandalism.

By prohibiting the skateboarders, it would not guarantee that the number of shoppers would increase. The plaza needs more evidence, such as several pictures or recordings of skateboarders littering and vandalizing, to ensure that the skateboarders are the real culprit. If the evidence could not be found, Central Plaza need to be more rational when finding the real cause of the declining customers.