"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the numb

The author mentions that the number of shoppers in central plaza are steadily decreasing since last two years. Author states the reason for decrease in number of people in central plaza is due to the increasing popularity of skateboarding. The author state skateboarders are responsible for the increase in the litter and vandalism in the central plaza. So, if the skateboarding is prohibited in the central plaza the number of shoppers will increase gradually. But the authors fails to provide the strong evidence that skateboarding was only the reason for the decline in the number of customers in central plaza.

Author fails to explain that was skateboarding only the reason for decline in the number of the customers? It may be the possible that some other store has been opened in the city which provides better products for the customer than the central plaza. It may be case that quality of products available at central plaza has deteriorated past two years. Also,how is the skateboarding related to the rise in the litter and vandalism? People not doing skate boarding may also be the reason for the increase in the litter and the vandalism. Maybe, the central plaza maintenance staff not doing their duty seriously.

First of all the author fails to mention about exact number shopper before two years and by what number has it decreased? Author also fails to answer the questions like , have all other shopping mall other than central plaza stopped skateboarding? Has skateboarding affected all the stores other than central plaza? If all the shopping malls are facing the problem of the litter and vandalism due to skateboarding than the authors reasoning is plausible. But if all the malls other than central plaza are doing extremely well even when they allow skateboarding then there is surely some other reason which has lead to decrease in the number of shoppers.

How many people do skateboarding in central mall? Has increase in popularity in skateboarding increase the number of people doing skateboarding in central mall? If the number of people engaged in skateboarding is significantly large to be considered cause for increase in litter and vandalism then the authors claim can be taken into consideration. What is the possibility that prohibiting skateboarding increase the number of customers again? Also ,how many central plaza store owners believe that decrease in their business is due to number of skateboards used in the plaza? If all the plaza owner believe the same then the authors claim can be considered. If only few store owners believe so, then it will fallacious claim.

Considering the all above facts the skateboarding cannot be directly associated with the decrease in the number of the shoppers. Thus, author has to answer all these questions to validate and make his claim more plausible that the skateboard user has really affected the number of footfalls at central plaza. Hence, skateboarding has to be prohibited in central plaza to increase the number of customers to previously high number.