Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news During the same time period most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with

The author asserted that in order to attract more viewers to program and prevent from losing advertising profit, it is required to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. While supporting this argument, however, the author makes numerous assumptions which cannot be taken for granted thus the argument remains largely unconvincing without presenting further evidence pertaining to evidence to justify this recommendation.

Firstly, the author assumes that the reason of compliant received from viewers is less devoted time to weather and local news, but it may not be true for this case. The coverage of weather and local news may related to its time, but it is uncertain that viewers have a compliant about the quality of the program, not about time for the program. Thus further evidence pertaining to the content of complaints is needed to support the claim and assess it.

Secondly, the author presumes that maybe cancellation of advertising from local business is due to less time devoted to weather and local news. However, although less time devoted to weather and local news, it might not be the direct cause for cancellation of advertisement. There might have been alternative causes for cancellation of advertisement. For example, if there is economic depression, the business may not afford the advertisement fee not because of the problem of broadcasting time, but because of the problem of their economic situation. It is also possible that if they are not concerned about the time but concerned about the quality of the program or just sequence of program, the television station do not need to restore their program. Therefore, the author need to present other contributing factors which may influence the decision of local business and the accurate reason of cancellation of advertisement.

Lastly, even if local businesses cancel their advertisement and viewers decrease because of compliant about time of late night news, restoring the program time to its former level may not be the best choice for the television station. if they do this, even worse, they lost their remaining customers for changing their policy. Thus, it is essential to survey their customers (local business and viewers) about the reason of cancellation of advertisement and the reason of less watching or why they satisfy their choice to advertise or watch the news via the television station. Without accurate information about their preference, it may bring more detrimental situation to the company.

In summary, the author's claim is not very well supported in its current form. Further evidence relating the accurate information of their customers is critical in determining the validity of the claim.