Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former leve

In authors argument that government of MAson City should devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities as the use of river for water sports is sure to inccrease is flawed.In the argument, the author not only draws conclusion based on asssumptions about the use of water but also resident's liking of water sports.Furthermore,the author makes the mistake of considering the response of some people as the response of whole population of city.

To begin with,the conclusion is largely based on the perception that according to the survey which was conducted water sports like swimming,boating and fishing are among the favorite recreational activities of the residents of Mason City.The author has failed to provide evidence of when the survey was taken,the survey was conducted for how many people, or people what age group etc.Also the author has assumed the response of only those number of people to be the response of every other resident of Mason City.

Secondly,the author has made the assumption that the complaints of people regarding river water's smell and quality are so that the government cleans up and they can do recreational activities.No where he has mentioned about the real reson their complaints.People might be complaining so that they can use the water for construction of dam. To add to this,the author assumes that the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River in response to the complaints of the people.But he has not shown any proof of this.The authority might have taken the decision due to some other reason like the pressure from the higher authority or for their other motives.

The argument can be strengthened if the author provides information regading the survey conducted and the responses.Also a proof of the real reason for the government's decision to clean up the river water.As it stands however,the argument is flawed for the reasons indicated.