Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The business manager of the television station thinks that devoting more time to national news and less time to local news and weather has led to complaints from viewers, and has also led to a loss of advertising revenues. The managers contention is rife with loopholes. We are not even been provided with sufficient evidences to agree with the manager conclusion.

He tells us that there have been complaints from the viewers concerning to coverage of weather and local news. But the exact nature of complaints is not mentioned. Maybe, the information about weather or the local news they are presenting is not accurate. This can be the trigger for discontent amongst the viewers and not just the time that is alloted to the local news or weather.

We are also told that the local businesses who used to advertise have cancelled their advertising contracts without mentioning any reason behind it. Maybe the local businesses have had their own losses pertaining to which they have cut down on their advertising expenses. Maybe they find the channel's advertising costs too high. Or since the news are programmed late night, the advertisers might have thought that their might not be substantial number of viewers watching it. So the timing of the news could also be the reason behind its decision.

Futher the manager thinks that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will help it in attracting the viewers. Also it would avoid losing any further advertising revenues. Maybe they need to focus on improving the content of the news. The manager should also consider other cases which might help to handle the situation in a better way.There can be reasons besides these to address the issue.

The manager would have made the argument more pursuasive by telling us about the nature of complaints. Also, knowing the reason behind the cancellation of the advertising contract would have helped us to conclude better. An investigation about any other ways of approaching the problem should also have been considered.