"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author claims that the reduced time for weather and local news and increased time for national news had led an increased proportion of complaints regarding the weather and local news and cancellation of contract with local bussinesses which used to advertise in their television station. He is certain that an increased proportion of time for local news and weather is the solution to all their problems. But in order for this to be true,he forgot to address various issues.

The author mentions that during the time period when they reduced the time devoted to local and weather news, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with the stations coverage of the same, but he doesnt provide with the necessary details regarding the nature of the complaints. The complaints could be regarding the inaccurate prediction of the local weather, or false representation of the local incidents. If this is true then the authors argument is flawed. He needs to address the nature of the complaints to be certain that the increased time for local and weather news can attract more viewers.

His second assertion is that because of the reduced time of the local and weather news, there has been a decline in local businesses advertisement contracts with them. This is seriously flawed as well. The author never stoop to provide with the statistics regarding the contracts. If there were 10000 companies advertising in their station and only 100 cancelled them, then this has no major effect on the overall contract percentage. He has to provide with pertinent statistical data in order to prove his claim.

Also, if the local bussiness is forfeiting their contract with the station because of the decrease in their profit, then the authors assumption will prove to be invalid as well. Local bussinesses might be forfeiting their contracts with every station because of their decrease in profits. The author should also weigh in these firms reason for cancelling the contract. Lack of funds might be discouraging these firms to spend heavily on just advertising.

All of these evidence is required to properly come to a conclusion. The nature of complaints of the viewers, statistics regarding the total contracts and contracts that have been cancelled, local business reasons for cancelling the contract should be properly studied to be sureof the assertion and after that the station can decide whether they want to increase the time for the local and the weather news.