"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

This argument claims that the television station should restart broadcasting weather and local news during their late-night news program in order to attract more viewers and avoid loss of revenue from advertising campaigns. It also states that the television station has received more complaints from viewers about coverage of weather and local news. However, the conclusion of this argument is based on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence and thus, the argument is flawed and unconvincing.

Firstly, the primary assumption of writer is that devoting less time to local news program is incurring revenue loss as many advertisers have canceled their contracts with the television station. However, their is no evidence that proves the fact that advertisers are cancelling contracts due to less broadcasting of local news program. May be this could have affected some advertisers but there could some other factors contributing to this situation. For example, the advertisers might not be happy with the policies of television station or the contract might seem to be less profitable to them. Additionally, if there is no growing demand of products and services of which advertisers are making advertisements, it would not effective and also a waste for companies to spend money on advertising campaigns. They might have found that there are less viewers during late night shows that actually pay attention to this advertisements.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the number of viewers of late-night news is decreasing since the television station has started national news program. The writer supports this claim by stating that viewers complaints about local news and weather are increasing. But it does not sufficiently explains the underlying cause for the reduction in viewer's number and their complaints.

Thus, argument in its present form seems unconvincing due to lack of strong evidence to support the claim. It is necessary to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors in order to assess the argument.