Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument statement says that in order to allure more viewers and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, the news channel have to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to it's former level. The evidences given to support this argument are : Impact of national news on the viewers, complaints of the viewers and contracts cancellation by the local advertising companies. However, the premises given are unable to justify or strenghten the argument. The reasons why this argument is rendered inconclusive are : wrong analogy between the national news and local news, Meager amount of data about the complaints and fallacious assumptions.

Firstly, the author has mentioned that over the past year the news channel are devoting increasing time to the the national news rather than the local and the weather news which ultimately resulting in decreasing number of viewers, but the author haven't mentioned about the previous time which were devoted to the local and weather news. Additionally, author haven't even mentioned about the time given to the national news now. Maybe the decrease in number of viewers can be due to the other reasons also like absurd content of the news, wrong forecast of weather etc. So, in the argument is inconclusive.

Secondly, the author said that complaints regarding the coverage of local and weather news are increasing, but the author haven't mentioned about the number of complaints that came in this period, also the number of viewers who used to watch and who still view the news on this channel are not mentioned. So, there is inadequacy of the data and to prove this argument right author have to provide more data regarding the complaints. Furthermore, the number of new viewers who joined the channel because of the national news progranne can even be much more in amount than the viewers who left, so it will still be more profitable for the news channel. Also, the revenues generated previously by showing local and weather new and the revenues generated now i.e. by showing national new is not given so, we can't say that the news channel is losing revenues.

Last but not the least, author mentioned that local business who used to advertise during the late-night program have cancelled their contracts, but this can be due to the other reasons too. For instance, the quality of their products is not upto that mark, that may also be the reason that they are going in loss now, so it's better they should stop advertising. There is also a possibility that the the comoany who used to advertise have changed their location now or they started a new occupation now thatswhy they had cancelled their contracts. So, the argument statement is invalid.

So, in sum i would like to conclude that the argument is full of fallacius assumptions and in order to prove this statement conclusive author has to give more data otherwise, this satement is inconclusive.