"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author of the argument concludes that television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level in order to attract more viewers and avoid any advertising revenues. To support this conclusion the author cited various premise; increased time devotion to national news, complaints regarding lack of coverage of weather and local news and cancelation of advertising contacts. These premises seem to bolster the argument at first sight but meticulous analysis shows otherwise. The reasons for failure of the argument are explained below;

Firstly, the author states that over the past year news program has devoted more time to national news rather than local and weather news due to which all the problems has occured. At first this premise seems to support the argument but actually not. Because one one year is not a small span of time, during this other problems may have ocuured due to which station is in trouble today. It may be possible that manner of repersenting news has changed which is not accepted by people.

Secondly, according to author's saying the number of complaints during that period has increased. But no statistical data has been provided about the number of complaints. Moreover, it may be possible that problems may be concerned about misrepersentation of news or about inaccurate data about the weather. Or it may be true that station may had become biased, showing the news only of concerned party due to which people become offended.

Thirdly, the reason provided for the loss of station is that local businessess that usally advertises during the late night programs has cancelled their contract due to more emphais on national news. But only this thing cannot be the cause of the recanation of local businessess, there must be other reasons responsible for their action. It might be due to mallacious image of the station which may be affecting their business or due to personal problems with manager of the station.

To sum up, the author's conclusion was totally based on the fallacious assumptions which lead to the failure of the argument. Additional information ragarding the matter shown in news, number of complaints by customers and the actual reason behind the cancellation of contract by local business advertisers. Due to unavailability of such information the argument fails to hold the ground.