Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The arguments states that the television station is losing its customers and that they have received complaints from their customers complaining that they have devoted less time to weather and local news.

According to the argument it is assumed that the reduction of the time allocated for weather and local news is the main cause of the customers cancelling their contracts. However, more evidence is required to evaluate this argument. There is need for the Tv Station to check whether the numbers of viewers has increased or decreased after they changed their programme. If the number of viewers did not change this will weaken the argument and further investigation is stated in the argument that most of the complains that were received viewers were concerned with the weather and the local news. More evidence is required, we need to know how many people complained because most is general. You can say 3 out of 5 complaints and thus not big a number when it is compared to the number of viewers. This evidence will weaken the argument if the number of the complaints compared to the number of viewers was insignificant. However, if the number was bulk of the viewers this would strengthen the argument.

Furthermore, as the argument is analysed more evidence is need on the reasons why the local businesses were cancelling their contracts with the tv station. An interview could have been conducted to find out the real reason why these companies were cancelling the contracts and thus the conclusion wont be based on assumptions. If it was found out that the companies were pulling out their contracts because of the weather and the local news which is translating to less people viewing the channel then that will strengthen the argument. However, if the interview revealed that they were cancelling their contracts due to other reasons for example maybe the television station was having high service charges, that will definitely weaken the argument.

For the television station to say there are going back to the time they devoted to weather and local news, the company will need more evidence to make sure that there are not misguided on their conclusion.