For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our

Written complaints had to be expected, as a change in a regular quotidian abitude is due to prompt indignation, though those have to be taken with an understanding ear without going immediately out of the way for simpathetic reasons.

The content clients have remained silent, so there's no proof of the new ratio of happy and unhappy listeners, unless the listeners number is available, which is not mentioned by the writer of the paragraph.

Even though American folk music hasn't been cancelled but diminished, it could still represent a problem for the abitual listeners, but instead of modifying again the program to the one before, it could be modified to play AFM during the hours of highest frequency, or at least during the complainers requiered hours, and the Latino & world music in the remaining time. The options could be quite a few when having to satisfy both parties.

The autor doesn't mention if there were complaints by the Latino & world music fans before the first decision of changing the program, so there's no way to know if this need to reach more fans was based on any criteria. In addition, the loss of listeners-supporters doesn't have to be a negative factor. As mentioned in the first paragraph, it had to be expected, and expected to be overlapped by the supposedly L&WM fans that could arrive in bigger masses. Since no deep marketing and social research is mentioned to have taken place, chances are that it actually happened and no one at the Folk on the Air program has noticed.

Despite the flaws in this argument, the writer could be right about the steps taken by the Folk on the Air staff, though proof would have to be presented in order to hold a valid argument.