A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In response to complaints that pets that had consumed their food experienced vomiting, lethargy and other signs of illness, the company recalled 4 million pounds of the food product. They tested sampled of the recalled product and found that all chemicals that were present in the food where those that are approved for use in pet food. Hence, it concludes that their product is not responsible for the symptoms and therefore, it should not devote further resources to the investigation. The company's conclusion relies on several unstated assumptions, which if proved unwarranted would undermine their position regarding the issue.

Firstly, it assumes that the method used to approve chemicals that can be used in pet food, that is determine which are safe to be present in pet food, by other agencies is not flawed. In other words, it means that all the approved chemicals are indeed safe for consumption in pets. It is quite possible that the agency or organisation that approved the chemicals did not follow appropriate methods to determine the safety of those chemicals and failed to recognise the dangers that some of them possess if consumed. As a result, even though the chemicals were deemed safe by them, there could be some that are potential threats to the health of the pets. In such a case, the pet food company's finding that all chemicals in their food were already approved doesn't necessarily lead to the conclusion that their product was not the cause of the illness in pets.

Even if the approval of the chemicals was a result of accurate tests, the company's argument depends on the assumption that the quantities of these chemicals in their food in within safe limits. The company only claims that none of the chemicals they used were harmful, but it is possible that the quantities of one or more chemicals were high and above the prescribed levels which then resulted in engendering the symptoms of illness in pets that consumed it. Hence, it is not sufficient to say that the presence of only the approved chemicals means that the symptoms were not a result of the consumption of their food.

Also, the company's argument is based on the fact the testing procedures they used to determine the chemical contents of their product is itself correct. The assumption that lies here is that they made use of standard testing procedures and tested samples from a large number of recalled items. In case they used faulty testing procedures that did not indicate the presence of other chemicals in the food that are not approved safe, then their presence of chemicals that actually caused the illness would go undetected. Then, the company's finding would be fallacious and the conclusion inappropriate.

From a closer look at the company's argument, it seems that it relies too much on certain unstated assumptions. The conclusion holds good only if the agency that approved the chemicals used standard methods, the quantities of these chemicals were within safe limits in the food and if the testing methods used by the comapny is itself right