A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled foo

The argument claims that a pet food company recalled their product due to many complaints. It further claims that the pet food company did not find anything wrong with their product after testing and should not devote further time and resources to further research. This claim makes many assumptions which, if proven false, would call the conclusion of the argument into question.

The argument claims that a few samples were tested and was found to safe. It fails to specify how many samples were tested. It could be that the company only tested a small set of products manufactured at one place and did not test the pet food manufactured in a different area. It could also be that of the many different products which the company recalled, only a specific product affects the food and this product was in the samples which were tested.

Even if it is true that all the products were sampled and tested and were found to have approved chemicals, it does not mention if the amount of each chemical used were under the threshold of safe use for that chemical. if those chemicals had higher concentrations than approved, this could have been the reason why any pets were falling sick. It could also be the case that a single breed of pet was affected by this food.

If all of the above assumptions hold true we have to also ask the question- who approved the chemicals? if it was a small agency which is not credible, then the whole argument falls apart. This would prompt the pet food company to delve into further research and find out which chemicals are bad.

The argument has left a lot of blanks which need to be filled before we can agree with its conclusion. By only making sure that all its assumptions are true can we agree with the conclusion of the argument.