A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument presents for the case of a pet food company to stop investigating its product, which has resulted, post consumption by its intended consumers (i.e. the pets) in undesirable symptoms such as vomiting, lethargy and other signs of illness. The argument assumes that the pet food is safe given that the clinical investigations indicated of its chemical safety and further assumes the product to be innocously marketable. This argument, though may appear logical at first glance, is unfortunately not as sound as it appears.

Firstly, the argument indicates that only 4 million pounds of pet food was recalled, and assumes that the samples for these 4 millions pounds of pet food were subjected to safety testing. However, we don't have the data about the overall production by the company, which may exceed 4 million pounds of pet food, neither are we presented with the data on the global distribution of the product. Thus, there is always a likelihood that the samples withdrawn formed the safe pool of pet food, while the unsafe food or the pet food that resulted in such symptoms was never taken for testing. Hence, the argument essentially needs to indicate whether the 4 million pounds of food recalled covered the areas where the pets experienced illness. Unless we are not armed with this assumption, the argument to consider the food is safe doesn't hold its ground.

Secondly, a flaw that the argument fails to address is the biological versus the chemical safety. This refers to failure of the argument in indicating whether the food which was considered chemically safe is also biologically safe. Despite the approval for use in pet food, an ingredient can't be considered to be salubrious unless it is tested on a large cohort of animals for whom it is intended. What may be safe for humans may not be so for animals. Thus it is essential to understand how the company defines food safety, and whether its safety parameters are flawed.

Thirdly, the argument speaks of pets but doesn't indicate the type pf pets. Every organism is different, so what may be consumable by one specie may turn deadly for the other specie. Thus, the argument fails to provide data on the type of animals, the pet food is intended for, as a result of which, it wouldn't be suitable to comment of the safety of the pet food. A very simple example is the case of herbivorous pets which subsist on vegetarian diets and mostly bear the enzyme cellulase needed for breakdown for plant food. If such food is consumed by non-herbivorous animals, it may result in symptoms as indicated by argument because the vegetarian diet is not exactly suitable for non-herbivores. This brings us to question the possibility that the company may not be labeling the food correctly and thus, despite the ingredients turning out to be safe for consumption, are making the pets sick. Hence, the argument lacks the evidence of the kind of pets for whom the food is intended. The ambiguity of the term pet food makes the argument for its its safety, not very strong.

Therefore, the argument presented to us is marred by logical issues which require to be addresses before we can conclusively assume that the food is safe for consumption by bets. Unless we can address the concerns, it wouldn't be recommendable for the company to stop its investigation for food safety, because it would damage the company's credibility in terms of food safety in the pet food market.