pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The author states that a pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other sign of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

I appreciate that the company immediately came into action and without thinking much recalled all 4 million pounds of food. However, they could have arranged a fast investigation in parallel to this recall process. The fast investigation would take a sample of food and test it which the company eventually did. Having done this, company would know that their food was not the actual reason for the problem with the pets, hence saving millions of dollars to the company.

Appreciating that company immediately called back the food and then investigated, author substantiates that the company should not devote further resources to the investigation. I completely disagree with author and the assumptions. Pet's life is more important that anything at this scenario. Company should further investigate and find the reason for the symptoms. They may collaborate with the concerned government organization or any NGO working for the betterment of animals. This would help them financially and morally.

Life of pets should not be taken inconsequential. They are equally important as humans. Author's assumption that if their product was not responsible for the symptoms then they should not carry on with the investigation is wrong. Also, author has assumed that it is the chemicals which might result the symptoms. However, I feel they have ignored the packaging of the product. Company might have changed the packing of the product and the new packaging might have some chemical which might be hazardous to animal's life. Packaging and its quality plays a vital role in product shipment.

There are cases when product reacts with packing material and its chemical reactions results in deadly component which has life threatening implications on the consumer. For example, dog biscuits may react with packing material and form a thin film of dangerous chemical on the biscuits which dogs eventually consume and fall prey to it.

Therefore, we can infer that company should continue with the investigation and find out the root of the symptoms. Money is not everything, life is more important. However, I appreciate that company recalled the product immediately after receiving complaints. Further investigation will be more helpful.