A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pet that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. The pet food company came to a conclusion that the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation based on the following stated assumptions.

Firstly, the company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all the chemicals found in the food were chemicals approved for pet food use, assuming that there was no adulteration in a certain lot of food that could have caused the reported symptoms. Secondly, their reasoning is also based on the assumption that all the chemicals were 100% safe for all the kinds of pets, ignoring the fact that the mixing of a certain chemicals with some other could have had certain side effects. Finally, they are assuming that the retailers are selling off all their products before the expiry date, and there is no chance of adulteration at the retailer's end.

If a certain lot of the pet products was adulterated, or say, the food for dogs containing some chemicals was packed under food for cats which could result in severe symptoms, as stated. This could be negligence on the packing division of the company, and such errors are not bound to be caught in the chemical testing of the food products. It may even be the issue of the manufacturing department, who instead of having a fixed proportion of the chemical mixed, could have increased the proportion to a higher amount that could be detrimental on the health of the pet. This is surely valid in the chemical test performed by the company, as that chemical in a certain amount is not dangerous but doesn't imply is safe in a higher amount. In fact, a very serious and thorough investigation in each and every department of the pet company is quite mandatory to reach the correct conclusion and cause of the recall of the products.

Lastly, the pet food company are failing to realize the fact that the adulteration of the food is quite possible after the product is dispatched from their warehouse to the retailers end. It is quite possible that a rival may have done so to mar their reputation, as a 4 million pound retake of pet food would have a deleterious effect on the pet food company's public image and would take years of effort to get back to the previous position. The other fact that they are forgetting to consider is the fact the way the retailer's store their products. Some pet food needs to be stored in damp places, away from the sunlight. The lack of care on the retailer's end could end in spoiled products before the pet owners buy them. It is also likely that they may be selling expired goods by replacing the information tags with a new one.

As a result, all the above assumptions and their counter arguments requires the pet food company to make further investigation in this situation, in order to save the public image of the company from getting impaired. If the company is not at fault all is unicorns and rainbows for the, but if any department of the company is at fault, well they need to apologize publicly for all the damaged caused by them and assure the pet owners that nothing of the kind would ever happen again in the future.