Pirouettes Ballet School is the clear choice for any child. Of all the dance schools in Elmtown, Pirouettes has the most intensive program, and our teachers have danced in the most prestigious ballet companies all over the world. Many of our students have gone on to become professional dancers with top dance companies.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The presented argument bats for the claims of the Pirouttes Ballet School as the ideal school for learning ballet. The claims of the said school is supported by its assumptions of providing an intensive program, coupled with experienced teachers and an apparently strong alumni who have joined the top companies. The claims, though may appear to be logically sound at the first glance, are not so if we delve deeper.

Firstly, the argument claims that it provides the most intensive program but doesn't further elucidate upon what makes it intensive. The term intensive in itself is ambiguous because a school may be intensive in terms of the number of hours it requires the student to attend the school or it may be intensive in terms the sheer volume of dance forms and techniques it may teach in a class. Since we have no understanding of what makes the program intensive, we can't conclude it to be the best. Further, by stating that the school is most intensive, a reader of such argument is likely to get confounded because it doesn't indicate the schools it may have compared itself with before coming to such conclusion. Again, there is always a possibility that may have compared itself with schools exhibiting strongly dismal results in which case it may be the 'most' intensive program. However, there shall always be a question of the kind of schools it has compared itself with to come to such a conclusion, and therefore evidences, possibly in form of surveys may help. In extension, we also don't have an understanding if such claims by the school is based on the location where it might be present, in which case it wouldn't be wrong to consider it to provide most intensive program if other schools in the same area are not equally devoting their time on students.

Secondly, the school claims to employ teachers who have performed at the most prestigious ballet dance companies all over the world. Although, the teachers st the school may be their best given that they have been part of the prestigious ballet companies, it brings us to question the abilities of an individual as a teachers. There is always the possibility, and in fact has been the case many a times, an individual may be an excellent dancer, a cook or a physicist, but may not always be the best teacher. This is because, teaching not only requires mastery of your own subject but also needs an ability to understand the children and simplify the instructions to allow for faster imbibing. Further, the claims of teachers performing at the most prestigious companies again stands to be challenged by the questions on what defines a prestigious ballet company, and makes them the 'most' prestigious. Given that we don't have evidence on the type of prestigious companies with which the school has compared itself with, we can't conclude it to be the best school.

Lastly, the argument claims that their students have gone on to become professional dancers with top dance companies. Again, there shall always be the question of what defines a top dance company. By all means, ranking is relative and can change based on the individuals perception. What may be considered the top company by one school may not be so by the other school, and hence, we again would require evidence of the companies where its alumni have been hired. Further, we also don't have any information on the number of students who joined the stated top companies, where there is a lihihood that the number of students may range from one to hundreds. Again, unless the query on the number of students placed, or the year in which they got the opportunity to join top dance companies, we may not agree with the school's claim of being the best.

To conclude, the argument essentially requires to provide more evidence before it can fully claim that Pirouttes Ballet school is the best. Unless the questions that have been raised have been addressed, we can't fully agree with the claims of the school.