Provide argument against the statement of author.

The author of the memorandum is concerned with the declining numbers of viewers of a late-night news program. He believes that in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid further advertising revenues, they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its previous level. I think his argument is flawed as he has not ruled out many other factors regarding the loss of viewers and advertising contracts.

First of all, the author assumes that "the complaints of the viewers regarding their station's coverage of weather and local news" and "cancelling of the advertising contracts" are comparable outcomes. He has not considered the other factors which may have lead to cancellation of advertising contracts by local businesses. For example, as the late night news program is quite late,most people like to sleep at that time, and the advertisements during that late time may not have much effect in the sales of those business, so they may have decided to cut their marketing budget there. It has nothing to do with the viewers complaints about lack of program time of weather and local news.

Also, the author mentions "most of the complaints" , where the term 'most' has no quantitative value provided for it. He has not given any idea about the number of complaints or the total viewer count of the late-night program in that particular city.

Furthermore, as this late-night program include national news, it is possible that he television station is broadcasted to multiple cities or states. The author has not even mentioned if the complaints are of a particular locality or multiple localities. If so, then there is no criteria to tell the demographic of coverage of television station and the corresponding complaints i.e. if they are from whole area or a localized area.

Hence in order to augment his argument, the author should consider providing quantitative data for comparison. Only word "most" does not justify his argument. Also he should consider the two outcomes of "the complaints of the viewers regarding their station's coverage of weather and local news" and "cancelling of the advertising contracts" in different lights and not rule out alternative possibilities for the them.