Que :

Over the past two years , the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarders has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store Owner believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboarders users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarders in central plaza. If skate boarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument claims that there has been a steady decrease in the number of shoppers in the Central Plaza due to increase in the number of skateboard users. He also argues that increase in number of skateboard users are also the reason for decrease in business at Central Plaza. The line of reasoning presented in the argument is flawed since the author has made several unsubstantiated assumptions and has provided with incomplete evidences.

To begin, the author of the argument fails to provide any justification that number of shoppers in Central Plaza decreases due to increasing popularity of skateboarders. It may be possible that shoppers have found another place for shopping which is better than Central Plaza in terms of ambiance and have cheaper cost for same products. It may also be possible that many people have advanced to online shopping over the past two years instead of shopping in Central Plaza. The argument would have been stronger had it provided with more information that is there any direct connection between the shoppers and skateboard users, or perhaps how the increase in number of skateboarders affected the number of shoppers.

Moreover, the author of the argument also makes a tragic assumption by supposing that if skateboarding is prohibited here, the business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels. It may be possible that skateboarders attract people and due to this reason many people come to Central Plaza to watch them and because of this number of shoppers increase. If skateboarding is prohibited here, it may be possible that number of people coming to Central Plaza also decreases dramatically which will have bad impact on the business of the store owners. This is the major flaw in the argument and should be at least acknowledge by the author, perhaps improved upon by defining if skateboarding will be prohibited in central Plaza then how the business will return to its previously high levels.

Furthermore the argument also states that there has been dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism. Does the increase of skateboarders in Central Plaza is reason for increase in amount of litter and vandalism? Since the store owners think that number of shoppers decreases due dramatic increase in number of skateboarders, it may be possible that store owners have spread the litter, or perhaps damage the Central Plaza to convince the city to prohibit skateboarders. It may be possible that since the number of shoppers had decreased, the owners of the some store spread litter, or perhaps damage other stores in silent to attract more shoppers to their own stores.

To sum up, the argument in its current state does not make a cogent case because of weak evidences and unreliable assumptions made by the author. The author needs to provide more information and clarify the above stat