Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author assumes at the beginning of the arguement that the reduction in the population of the shrimp is due to the recent incursions of the deep-sea fishermen. There are no other reasons specified that might have also resulted to this outcome. It is entirely possible that the decrease in the population could have been caused by a recent change in the climate of the habitat. It is also possible that due to increase in the population of predators of shrimps increased in the habitat. Without discarding other possible reasons for this decrease the assertion that fishermen were solely to blame doesn't look cogent.

Further the autor fails to elucidate on how a decrease in the shrimp population was established. In particular, the arguement also doesnt state if the population study has been considered from previous years to determine this decrease. It is possible that the shrimp population remained the same at this period of time in the previous years as well. It is also possible that due to the flaws in the techniques used to determine the shrimp population has led to this conclusion. Without the information of the shrimp population throughout a certain period of time earlier to the recent study and withouth the knowledge of the techniques used, it is not wise to arrive at the conclusion of reduction in the population.

The author further assumes that this trend is expected to continue. There is however no reason stated for this claim. It is possible that the Madagascan shrimp was not preffered by many in their diet. And it is possible that the deep-sea fishermen no longer find it economically viable to capture the Madagascan shrimp in which case one may not expect the same trend to continue. However, the converse of this could also be true that people took a liking for this particular shrimp. And this could definitely deter the population of shrimp owing to the demands. However, without any evidence to indicate why the fishermen are llikely to return, it is not possible to reason that the trend is expected to coninue. Further. the author discards the possibility of a great yield after the breeding season.

Finally, in the arguement, it is concluded that the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species. However, there is little evidence on why the extinction is expected to happen at a rapid rate. The claim however seems to be based on the fact that with the increase in the fishing activities results in a decrease in the population. However, the author fails to provide any estimate on how soon this is expected to occur. It is possible that the decrease in the population, however significant it might be, donot indicate the levels that indicate endangereing of a species. Without both these individual numbers it is hard to conclude that the shrimp could become an endangered species.