Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

There are few assumptions and gaps in the information which are needed to be addressed in order to depict a viable picture that will hold the state of Madagascan shrimps in the told area.

First, it is not clear nor does it is mentioned in passage if that the given location is the only place that inhibits the Madagscan shrimp. If it is not the only habitat for them, there is possibility that they may be able to perseve their toatal population as a specie even if they will be wiped of the area by the unfortunate circumstances described by the aggressive fishing at the location which is discussed in the passage. So it should be clarified that what fraction of Madagascan shrimp is located in this habitat.

Important issue that weakens the claims in the passage is that quantification of its data is missing. With the absent of real numbers it is impossible to tell what is the accurate state of the Madagascan shrimps. This could be fixed by giving the shrimp population before the incursions and after and the rate of reproduction. Such data will enable to develop a mathemtical model that will show the trends of the shrimps population. Such model may or may not been made already by the author. We are not given the quntifiable information that is obligatory to make predictions about the shrimps population

Another issue is the rate of reproduction of the specie. We should have an information that shows how much reproduction is actually happening and to what degree the shrimps reproduce and what fraction is it. Mathematically there is a viable possibility that the shrimps popuation will approach some maintainable limit and so they will be able to survive the fishing routine. We should be supplied with all the necessary facts in order to be able to predict the future line of the population of Madagscan shrimps.

Additional concern is that the trend might change if the reality changes. For example if there are a small population, the fisherman might be able to grasp this situation and the risk for their future source of living and try to fish in more abundant areas in order to perserve the shrimps population. In fact, there are many others parameters that may cause the current trend to diverge into a different course. Another one, for example, is a state law that will prohibit fishing after a certain amount.

To conclude, there needed to be clarifications from the author and the author should address all the points we discussed here, in order to have a viable conclusion about the state of Madagascan shrimp.