"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The author has cited some facts and come to the conclusion that the level of stimulation is higher in first born than in the successive siblings. However, the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions, and hence, not strong enough to buttress the preceded conclusion.

First of all, the argument is based on a questionable assumption that the result obtained from the study of eighteen rhesus monkey is representative of the entire species. However, this seems to be quite insufficient data pool for an experimental survey, and it is possible that in a larger population of monkeys, similar pattern of stimulation may not be observed. Furthermore, since there is no definite information about the nature of experiment conducted on humans, the scope and validity of the conclusion drawn upon them lacks corroboration.

Additionally, the conditions or environment in which experiments were conducted upon monkeys is unclear. Perhaps the first born monkeys, due to some fluke underwent a stressful situation prior to the experiment. This could explain the increased level of cortisol and hence, stimulation during the experiment. Similarly, the disparity in the level of hormones during pregnancy could be due to dietary factors, diseases or deformities in the would be mother. It may not have anything to do with the order of pregnancy.

Also, the particular behavior of the siblings could be due to difference in their adaptation capabilities. Perhaps, the first born assists its sibling in coping with various stressful situation so that cortisol level in the younger ones is low during those situation. Therefore, the difference in stimulation could be the result of a better adaptive quality or the presence of a supportive figure rather than the consequence of birth order.

To sum it up, various avenues are left unexplored in the argument, due to which the conclusion seems feeble. It would be wise to address those areas prior to setting any firm conclusion on the matter.