"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The recent study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The given premise is valid but incomplete and the assumptions is unwarranted therefore the conclusion is not convicting.

During the study of eighteen rhesus monkey, might have been collected from same place .if they were collected from different place the result might have been different. Furthermore, a meager study of only 18 monkey might not produce significant result about the firstborn, and response to stimulating situations. It also doesn’t mention that how many of them are parents, first born and older.

The authors states that first born infants monkey produce twice as much of the hormones. But there may be anomalous about this statements, had the sibling been exposed to more stimulating or threatening situations then older one, they might have produced higher level of hormones then firstborn. More ever, order of birth cannot be ascertained on the rate of hormone productions alone it may be due to others parameters like environments, climate may influence it.

Human infants when faced with unfamiliar situations, exhibit higher level of cortisol level. Though the hormone cortisol is present in both monkey and humans, the stimulus in both cases can be different. It is not mentions in the arguments that humans and monkey posses similar hormonal reactions to stimulus. Likewise, stimulus considered in the arguments is different for both the cases. It could be helpful if the number of infants studied is given.

The study also doesn’t shows that how much cortisol level is found in those who had higher offsprings. so without studying the amount or level of cortisol in the monkey who had higher offsprings. so it may be be irrevelent to say that fist time mother monkey had higher level of cortisols.

Many specific still need to be studied about the rhesus monkey. The author should not assume that first mother monkey have higher level of cortisol without completely studying about rhesus with more than one offspring. In addition to these, author does not provides the information of monkey whether they had taken from same place or different. If taken from different place the result might be different. Author must study in more populations then only in 18,it will be more valid. Author must provides the information of how birth can affect in the rate of production of hormones, other parameters also may influence it.After studying in these different sector, conclusion only will be valid.