A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument states that the study shown therapeutic effects of salicylates, which reduced headache in Mentia residents. The salicylates are used as food preservatives, and rise in the commercial use of salicylates reduces headaches, more food companies want to use salicylates in food, which in turn can reduce headaches in Mentia residents. This argument sounds relevant, however, there are many questions which are unanswered, and can challenge the conclusion.

First question is how many people of the city participated in the study. There are multiple possibilities, may be only few people participated, or people of all age groups didn't participate in the study, or participating people may have some other illness. All these questions can put restriction on generalizing the study results. The Mentia city may have people of different ages, nationalities, or people may have some other sickness, which is causing then headaches and in those twenty years that other sickness got cured, which indirectly cured headache also. In this case, salicylates may not played any role in curing headache.

Second question is on the conducted study. As per argument, the study is not proved, it is just saying possible effects, which means headaches might have cured by salicylates or by something else as well. It can happen also, the people who are participating in study are taking any other medicine along with salicylates, which is curing headache.

Another question is what is causing headache to the Mentia residents? It is normal headache, which happens once in a while, or there is another reason, for example, there might be any kind of pollution in air, water or soil, which is causing headache. Another reason may be any factory in the city, which is releasing chemicals in the air or water, and people live around that area, are suffering from headache, and all other residents have no such kind of problem.

Above mentioned questions can put doubt on conclusion, thus before reaching on conclusion, it is important to answer these questions, and analyze the results.