"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buz

The memo states that the stored food at a warehouse in Palm City is damaged by pests in a greater value than that in Wintervale, so the negligence Fly-away Company, which provides pest control services in Plam City, should be the reason for the damage. However, the facts presented in the memo are not enough for the conclusion and there are a lot of alternative explanations that can rival the proposed statement.

Firstly, the value of destroyed food may not represent the amount of food damaged by pests. The types of food stored in Palm City and Wintervale can be totally different. The different food certainly has different prices. For example, the warehouse in Palm City may store imported premium-grade beef which are much more expensive than the domestic vegetable stored in Wintervale warehouse. Therefore, only a few kilograms of damaged food in the Palm city warehouse can cost a lot more than several kilograms of damaged vegetable in Wintervale warehouse. For this reason, we cannot conclude that the Fly-away Company does not have the ability to control the pests in the Palm City warehouse because the pests in the Palm City Warehouse may be much less than other warehouses. The reason for the greater value of food loss may come from the expensive food stored in that warehouse.

Secondly, the difficulties to control pests in different locations are not the same. Palm City may be located in the warm and humid area, so there are many kinds of pests that can grow easily in that region. Meanwhile, Wintervale may situate in the cold and dry area which allows only a few species of pests to survive. Consequently, the performance of pest control in Palm City cannot be directly compared with that in the other cities of different locations. The company should confirm that the quantities and types of pests in those locations are the same before the damaged food can be used as a comparison criterion.

Last but not least, the memo shows the comparison in pest control between only two companies. Although the values of damaged food of these two companies are different, this value may be negligible comparing to the other pest control companies. There may be a third company that take a responsibility in the pest control of another warehouse and $100,000 worth of food is damaged from pests at this warehouse. This additional evidence can show that the performance of Fly Away and Buzzoff companies are both quite satisfied. Accordingly, the information on the results of other pest control companies is essentially required before the conclusion can be made.

All in all, these alternative explanations can rival the memo’s claim and make the memo flawed. Subsequently, a lot more data is needed in order to consider this issue thoroughly.