"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author is stating that the students who are enrolling to Buckingham's college has to have dormitory adequate to fit in the all students. Though the author's intention seems quiet helpful to the students, they are many conclusions drawn which seem unjust. There are so many loop holes in the position of statements made by author. No proper corroborations are supplied to the statements, and having not said that drawing the conclusions seem facile.

On the first hand, author is stating that the with the general trend, the enrollment would be redoubled over next fifty years. This statement cannot be proved. It may be likely that some other college may start in the mean time which may become more illustrious than Buckingham college. Even though the college is currently famous and is taking in more admissions, the same trend need not stay even after fifty years. Hence the conclusion to increase the dormitory space due to the fact that number of students might increase is meaningless.

Secondly, the author is not stating that what kind of students are enrolling to the college. Whether they are residents of same town, city or are from different city, country. If the students are coming from far places then of course they will first try to find dormitories provided by the college. More student enrollment does not mean that all students are coming from far places. They may be likely the residents of same town or city. Without having the statistics that how many students are coming from far places, suggesting to increase the dormitory space seems unjust.

Further, the college is famous may be likely to its good education, training methodologies and the profound scholars. Hence it is more likely that the student will join the college to have good and depth education. Instead the author is stating that more students will enroll if the dormitories look more impressive. This statement proves to be a facetious. No student will join the college just by looking attractive qualities of the college dormitories.

Thus in total, there are several flaws which needs to be addressed by the author, before drawing the conclusion. Without proper evidence and only considering the assumptions, the conclusions cannot be accepted.