“To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham’s enrollment is growing and based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham. ”

It is important to satisfy basic housing needs of the students so that they give more focus on studies rather than struggling for their basic needs, but, the reasons provided by the author here are not cogent. Also, this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and fails to provide convincing reasons for increasing the number of dormitories.

The very first reason provided by the author does not specify what exact needs are not being served. It may happen that there may be enough number of beds to sleep, but, the number of washrooms or some other household appliances like refrigerators, table fans, lights etc. are missing. So it is not appropriate for author to jump directly to the conclusion of increasing number of dormitories. Instead, author should specify the exact needs for stating this argument.

Also, the author assumes that today’s trends of increment in Buckingham’s enrollment will be the same in future but, assuming this is quite unrealistic because, enrollment may increase or decrease in future and there can’t be any accurate prediction about the future. Author could have strengthened his argument by providing some accurate numbers or statistics that would guarantee the enrollment to get doubled in 50 years.

Taking admission in any college doesn’t mean that the student will be requiring hostel facilities; he may or may not if, he is a local resident or finds transportation facilities feasible. Author also says that rent of apartments has increased but, increase may be 2% or 5% which could be easily managed by the students. Author fails to provide accurate percentage increase in the rent and so directly jumping to conclusion that students will not be able to rent off-campus apartments is simply not persuasive.

Likewise, a good housing facility or campus facilities may be one of the secondary reasons that a student will consider while taking his admission but, he will give more focus on other important things like teaching facilities, college accreditation, campus placement etc. So, to say that increasing dormitories is likely to increase the number of enrollments is not appropriate. Author should provide statistical data and find more convincing reasons for increasing the number of dormitories.