To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham.

Buckingham College is planning to build new dormitories for accommodating newly enrolled students. Considering the current trend of enrollment and rising prices of off-campus housing, the author finds this solution apt. But this argument does not make a cogent case for building dormitories. It is easy to comprehend the need of dormitories based on rising enrollment but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to support the need of building new housing for students.

Citing evidence of growth in enrollment of students, the author reports that the Buckingham's enrollment will double every 50 years and the current dormitory space will not be sufficient for accommodation. However, the scope and validity of evidence is not clear. The evidence does not provide details about the students who are in need of on campus housing. Author blindly assumes that all the newly enrolled students will be in need of housing. Unless this assumption is supported by strong, valid evidence and details about admission, it cannot buttress the author's argument.

Additionally, the author states that the average rent for off campus housing has increased in recent year. Author completely fails to mention the details underlying this assumption. Evidence posited by author does not include the cost of housing for different areas nearby Buckingham college. There might be a situation where the cost of housing is stable near campus but increasing rapidly in far off regions, leading to increase in average rent for apartments. Author should provide details about the cost for different regions and based on these details, he should draw any conclusion.

Finally, author gives a lot of importance to newly constructed dormitories in attracting new enrollments. Author fails to grasp other important criterion like courses, faculties, rankings, etc. which are essential in selecting a college. Infrastructure plays important role while enrollment procedure but other factors are also very important.

College should gather more evidence to support the need of new dormitories. They should carefully look out for the percentage of students who are opting for on campus housing. College should focus more on the areas of interest while calculating the average rent rather than focusing on general data. College administration should focus on other factors to attract new admissions.