Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument concludes that "To increase the number of teenage and to teach them the importance of community services and charity the Pleasantville High School" should undertake the program to complete 40 hours of community service before they complete their graduation. The argument presented here has many loopholes and gaps since it presents fragmentary evidence. Neither are the premises convincing nor is the conclusion compelling. The argument is very evidently the result of hasty generalization.

As discussed above that argument has many loopholes and gaps the major one it is : The charitable orgainzation has a great need for volunteers and it presents that teenage volunteer has decreased. Their is no information about the other age groups. It can be the case that overall number of volunteers might have decreased and also the author has also not descibed the time scale during which this decreased has occured. it can be the case that the decrease has resluted in a year or two of juust in a month nothing can be said about time scale.

And secondly it is said that to increase the importance of community service the students should complete a 40 hour community service, the author has here assumed that this would increase the importance of charity and community service among teenager, but on other hand they can also take it as a subject to be completed for completing graduation. This can lead to overall defeat of the purpose of this program.

The author here has also not described the type of work that the volunteer need to do. Had it been a important task or much needed seriousness in responsiblity then the task would be better done by the people with good understanding and not by the teenger. The author need to mention the work to done.

Concluding that, the argument is the result of a huge speculation in which the author has comfortably assumed a considerable amount of data. Had the author taken the above menntioned factors into consideration, it would have rendered the argument irrefutable. But whatever is presented fails to provide a holistic picture to the superfluous claims being made.