Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As quoted by Albert Einstein "Only the life lived in service to others is worth living". It is indeed true that one should serve society and do the things that would be benficial for the need of society instead of thinking for oneself. As the author says several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service it implies that there are many charitable organizations in Pleasantville that works for the betterment of society and have teenagers in their team.

But in recent years the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined which may be due to the fact that many teenagers would have started thinking for themselves and are no more interested in working for the social cause. So author has further suggested that the Pleasantville School Board should take various measures in increasing the number of volunteers by implementing a program in which students are to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation. Moreover, this would help students to assist local charities and also would gain the importance of helping the community and would earn much pleasure in helping others as it said more you give more you get. For these implications charitable organizations in Pleasantville can also provide Certificates to Students which would give them pleasure to work for community and also provide them with the refreshments when they come to work. There should also be some marks or assessment grades provided to students who contribute more towards the society this would provide them immense satisfaction. By taking these proper steps the number of teenage volunteers working for society can be increased as it is rightly said 'The children of a nation are its future'.