"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Radio station is confronting ever-increasingly competitive, both from peers and from new media, some of them being combating their declining audiences. KNOW radio station is the case. In spite of increasing population, its falling numbers of listener continue, thus it decides to introduce new programs like a continuous news format, which operates successfully at stations of neighboring cities, to fight against the trend, including drawing rising people of over fifty years old. If the expected result will be realized, the assumptions on which the arguments rest should be tenable.

Above all, hidden assumptions are that people over fifty years of age, the group of dramatic increase, dislike rock-and-roll music but news program. Without any objective, valid investigation of what this group taste, it is difficult to judge that they disfavor this format or that. In fact, a great number of them may be enthusiasm about classical rock, which has been accompanying from the start of rock. And the rising number of this group will definitely become the listeners of news program. As it is known, any prediction is notoriously unreliable, because of many uncertain factors. Whether they like it or not is completely unclear, maybe none of them listening to this program.

Next, rock-and-roll music is supposed as the culprit of the declining listener number of KNOW. There are some questions. Isn't there only one program in KNOW? Generally, this is impossible. In this case, are there a complete description of all the programs about their ratings in the station or in the region respectively? If it's still on the top, the change from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format is apparently a wrong decision. In contrast, other programs like chatting, rated in low level, may be really abandoned. And this assumption is that declining listener number has sufficiently posed a great impact on the sustainable operation of KNOW. If these questions are unclear, the assumption hardly stands.

Furthermore, it assumes that the decreased sales of recorded music indicates people dislike music, especially those over fifty years of age. In reality, the sales of recorded music decreased because local people rarely purchase, not including the newcomers, who still like. Importantly, other free access to rock-and-roll music or other forms of music has emerged, convenient and free, modern people enjoy online music, lively or download, a crucial way to listen to music, no longer paying for recorded music. For this reason, it can rationally explain the falling sales of recorded music. Whether this assumption stands or not hinges on realistic condition about the reducing sales of recorded music.

An interesting assumption is, meanwhile, the success of continuous news stations in neighboring cities can be copied by KNOW. Are there no difference in stations of both places? Impossible. Everything has difference, either in the tastes of listeners, or in the mode of radio stations' operation, or in the planning of new programs, etc, even if slightly. For KNOW, such simple copy will bring about not blessing but nightmare, without a careful analysis before introducing a program. It should make sure that KNOW has according recourses to set up this program in its region, where people, foreign or native, young and old, mostly listen to the continuous news.

Last, it should assume that the 24-hour news will certainly attract older listeners and secure KNOW ratio's future. It is unclear if these elders listen to the 24-hour news, who usually spend more time on sleeping and relaxing, confined to their physiology. Coupled with original listeners, they will persistently listen to the program, never leaving. Obviously, this is also impossible. Diversification of programs, stations, and channels, modern people always turn their attention from one radio station to another, even thoroughly deserting radio stations to network news. So, this assumption holds big loopholes.

In short, if KNOW hopes to transform successfully, the abovementioned assumptions should be examined correctly, otherwise the predicted result will difficultly be achieved.