Should late-night program revert back to local news and weather because losing advertising revenue from local businesses

"Four in five doctors recommend this toothpaste" attepts to give you a pretty picture of the brand and how well it works. However, this way of advertising does not give you any information on the type or number of doctors surveyed or if the doctors were paid to say yes. In other words, the brand is giving you a statistic without the proper information to interpret that statistic. Just because a late-nigth news program has been given complaints about not covering local news and weather and has lost advertising contracts with local businesses does not mean the program isn't succeeding. In order to know that, we must be able to evaluate the number of complaints, and the type of the complainers, and how much money is being lost from local businesses and how much is being gained from national businesses.

In the course of a year, "most" complaints were about local news and weather coverage. Without knowing exactly how many complaints were filed and how many were concerned with the local news and weather, we can not properly interpret this information. Three out of five complaints could be considered "most," but in the course of a year, five complaints is not many at all. Knowing the percentage of complaints compared to viewers would also be helpful in evaluating this argument. If there are 10,000 and only thirty actually complained, and twenty of those were about the local news and weather, "most" complaints are about this topics, but they do not represent the opinion of all viewers.

How the complainers themselves represent the viewers is another piece of evience to consider. The older people get, the more stubburn people are to change. For example, when smart phones started to emerge, my grandma refused to give up her older flip phone for an iPhone because she had just started to understand the older phone and thought the newer phone was too much change, even if it would have made her life a little easier. So, if the complaints were mainly from an older audience, the concern may just be coming from a reluctance to accept the change, rather than a distain for it.

Older audiences like to stick to their roots, including the local businesses they will regularly visit rather than nationally owned, chain-type stores. In looking at the lost reveue from the local businesses cancelling contracts, we must also look at the number of new contracts from bigger brands. If two small businesses cancelled their $100 contracts which were made with a deal because they are local, two new spots are open for a bigger and more well-off company to purchase their spot for more money. Now those spots could be making $200 each rather than $200 total from the local businesses.

Statistics are best understood when all information is present. When any piece of evidence is missing, the numbers can be misleading and lead to mistakes. If the complaints were actually a smaller number than "most" makes them seem, the complainers do not repesent the majority of the audience well, and bigger companies are able to buy the advertising contracts at a higher pirce, there is definitely no need to cancel the late-night news program.