Slimville city residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that their exercise habits confirms more closely to what doctors and health practitioners recommend than they did seven years ago. During those seven years, more people have been taking daily walks than ever before. Although a few gymnasium complex in city have been closed down, the other sport complex and gymnasiums see full attendances in some seasons. Because of these positive changes in the exercising habits of slimville city residents, we predict that obesity rate of the city will soon be below the national average.

The author strongly asserts that the obesity rate is lowered in Slimville city. The author of this analytical piece had drawn an optimistic conclusion from disjoint and incomplete data, that obesity rate of city will soon be below the national average.

He begins with a broad statement based on survey analysis of exercise habits recommended by doctors and health practitioners. The survey shows that citizens of Slimville closely follow the exercise routine recommended. This leaves a lot of space for doubt. As the survey was done seven years ago, it raises a reservation about survey. Other questions can also be raised on the basis of survey such as who were the doctors and health practitioners panel for survey and what were their area of expertise. A similar question about the potential difference in population of city seven years ago and at present should also be taken into account before drawing the conclusion. The survey also shows a higher proportion of health walkers. We cannot jump to the conclusion based on this incomplete data.

Other assertion made by writer is regarding the attendance of gymnasium complex. The writer stresses on the attendance of the gymnasium complexes. Thus he summarizes that residents of Slimville are practicing healthier lifestyle. The piece of writer assertion mentions about close down of some gym complex from which it can be cited that due to reduce in number of gym complexes majority of citizens must have join the other complex resulting in overcrowded of gyms. Thus it implies that number of people exercising has

decreased.

The given information cannot be interpreted to mean that there are positive changes in exercising habits of citizens. It cannot necessarily means that the obesity rate of citizens of Slimville will reduce. Unless there is a record of how obese Slimville residents were seven years ago and present times, we it can’t inferred from such restricted information whether people of Slimville are practicing a healthier lifestyle or not.

In general, it may be said that writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of complete absence of statistical data. The argument ends with an unjustified optimistic conclusion.