The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit.”

Argument Analysis.

The author mentions that the smith corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now a part of youngtown wildlife preserve. This could be the best way to preserve the 300 bird species but it is not totally true that building a small hotel would harm the large wildlife preserve. Since it is mentioned that the smith corporation wants to build a small hotel in the land and they have promised to ensure preservation, the term 'disastrous consequences' is bit of a exaggeration.

The author has also mentioned a wrong reasoning in the petition. It is said that tourists visit a lot to see the magnificent bird population, so building a hotel right near it might promote more tourists to visit the preserve, which will indirectly benefit the community which relies on tourists who visit the sanctuary. The author has not mentioned the total area of the preserve and the area acquired for the hotel to be built. This would have given us a better idea to judge whether building the hotel might have affected the bird species. More information like whether the land acquired is by cutting down trees or is made on an open area of free land would have better helped in deciding the fate of the birds living there. Thus more proper reasoning and conclusive evidence is needed rather than assumptions to decide whether the written petition is justified by the environmental protection group.