“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit.”

The author of the petition provides unreliable arguments and employs an illogical line of thought to draw up the present conclusion which renders it unsound. The information gathered is insufficient to reach a justifiable and strong conclusion. Hence, a thorough investigation of the current situation is required.

Firstly, the author states that the proposed development would have disastrous consequences for the area which is essential for the survival of bird species. However, this assumption of the author is not backed by concrete evidences. No detail regarding the scale of this consequence is provided. Will this proposed development lead to loss of the sanctuary? Will this affect the survival of the 300 bird species? It is possible that the proposed development would not have a huge impact on the wellness of the sanctuary. The negative impact on the sanctuary could be minute enough and could be managed well by the Smith Corporation. Hence, reaching the present conclusion without providing such critical details is not justifiable.

Secondly, the author doubts the reliability of the corporation's promise to ensure preservation. However, the author fails to substantiate this doubt with evidence. There is no mention of the steps that the corporation plans to employ for the safety of the sanctuary. Additionally, there is also reason mentioned for distrusting the corporation. Hence, it is possible that the corporation would successfully complete their proposed development without affecting the sanctuary. Also, there exists the possibility that the corporation could be have a good reputation and has no history of disastrous projects.

Thirdly, the author relies on premise that the development would bring in no benefit through sales. However, this statement needs to be backed with true facts to present a strong case. The author ignores the details regarding the current situation of the sanctuary and sales through tourists. Are the current sales sufficient to cater to the economic needs of the sanctuary? Can this development attract more number of tourists and thereby increase sales? These ignored information is important and needs to be considered before arriving at the present conclusion.

To sum, the author presents a number of arguments which are unsubstantial and reaches a conclusion without considering the alternative scenarios and important information. The current arguments evoke a number of questions that need to be answered. Hence, additional details need to be collected, reviewed and analyzed to reach a strong conclusion.