Super Screen MoviesThe following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

Whilst it is reasonable that Super Screen Movie Production Company would like to increase the viewership of their movies, the recommendation by the advertising director to increase the budget for the advertising as a solutio is founded on tenuous arguments. Some questions would needed to be answered before we can evaluate the validity of the director's recommendation.

Firstly, we would need to know whether the report result can be taken at face value. The content of the report would need to be scrutinized and evaluated. There could be fewer people attending Super Screen-produced movies based on the fact that were fewer movies produced by the company in the past years. In this case, the problem is that Super Screen would need to produce more movies and this has nothing to do with their movie reviews.

Furthermore, the director would need to answer the question of whether the number of positive reviews by movie reviewers actually increased as claimed. The percentage increase could be due to the fact that there are fewer total people attending Super Screen-produced movies, which results in less overall number of reviews. If the absolute number of positive reviews remained the same, the percentage increase of positive reviews is being overstated by the director.

Also, the director concludes that the problem lies not with the quality of their movies by the reach of the movie's reviews. Even if it is shown that the percentage of positive reviews actually increased, how the advertising director came to the conclusion that quality of their movies is not the problem is unclear. The question that needs to be answered is whether the movie reviews have any result on the decision of prospective viewers in the first place. The recommendation to increase advertising budget is an ill-informed one if it is shown that the actual problem behind the lack of viewership is the content of the movies and not because of the movie reviews.

In conclusion, the director would need answer these questions to make a cogent case for the recommendation. Otherwise, it would be difficult for the advertising director to convince the board to increase budge of advertising next year.