SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middleburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middleburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument concludes that the decision taken by Supercorp of moving its headquarters to Corporateville is the best decision, but the conclusion made is based on precarious facts. And there are many favorable assumptions considered, which if proven else will weaken this argument.

Foremost, the recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that people are interested in buying houses in Corporateville, not that it is a superior place to live than Middleburg. Instead, People might not be buying houses to live but buying them from an investment point of view.

Middleburg is a predominately urban area proves that Middleburg is an urban area but it does not state that Corporateville is also not an urban area. Then the survey that has determined that employees of SuperCorp prefer to live in an area that is not urban, if true, makes Corporateville decision to move its headquarters a bad one.

There is nothing mentioned about how many people or employees took part in the survey, for all we know out all the employees only two people might have taken part in it.

Corporateville has lower taxes than Middleburg does not prove that it is a safer and cheaper place to work. For all, the tax might be lower than Middleburg, but higher than all other cities. There is no evidence provided which proves that Corporateville is a safer place, lower taxes has no relation with the safety of that place.

In conclusion, the decision taken by Supercorp of moving its headquarters to Corporateville is the not the best decision, the conclusion is based on very weak arguments or facts.