SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claimed that the moving SuperCorp headquarters to Corporateville was the best decision based on several assumptions. While Corporateville may have several advantage over Middleburg, the assumption presented does not actually prove this to be the case; several unwarranted assumptions and misinterpretation of the survey serve to seriously compromise the arguments.

Firstly, in the second sentence, the author assumes that an increase in the number of homeowners indicates a better place for a living. He is assuming that people would buy houses only when they want to live there, and th...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.