"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

The author of this argument recommends that they should hire Appian Roadways to construct roads for all our malls. To justify the recommendation, the vice president cites the following fact. (1) Compering two distinct roads in the different place show that Appian Roadways can construct high quality road, which does not repairing for four years. (2) This company now uses of the modern paving machinery and hire new quality-control manager, so they can improve roads quality. (3) We do not need to repair the roads for four years, if Appian Roadways builds them. Scrutiny, each of these factors, however, reveals that none of them lend credible supports to the recommendation.

First, base on the fact that roads, which are build by Appian Roadways have not badly cracked, the author infers that this company can build high quality roads. However, the author must provide others factors, which are effective in this matter. In fact, it is entirely possible less people use of these roads, or stable weather impact less these roads negatively. Without considering these possible scenarios, the author cannot justifiably conclude that Appian Roadways can butter better roads.

Second, the author relies on the fact that purchasing new machinery and hiring new quality-control manager in Appian Roadways can be effective in its quality. Nevertheless, it is quite possible the new machine can not have better function rather that old machine. In addition, the new quality-control manager may have not enough experience, which can impact negatively quality. In short, since the author relies on limited information, I can not take the author’s conclusion seriously.

In the third place, the soundness of the conclusion that we do not need to repair the roads, which are build by Appian Roadways, for at least four years should be answered by the author. It is possible many people go to malls, which can destroy the roads.

In sum, the argument is flawed logically and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must improve more information about all effective factors on quality of the road. In order to evaluate better the conclusion, we need to know more about the