"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago,

Prediction is based on comparison of two sections of different routes with few other arguments used to strengthen the recommendation. But the prediction and arguments themselves are questionable. Memo fails to provide enough evidences for favouring one firm over another. The information provided in memo thus appears to be biased.

Lets start with the contrast of Routes 101 and Route 40. The nature of traffic that this routes face is missing. Some details on types of vehicles that comprise traffic on this two routes could have been vital to built a strong argument. As heavy vehicles tend to cause greater damage to the pavement. Route 101 could be a national highway providing connectivity between two industrial areas. Thus the traffic on these routes will comprise mostly of large container and semi trucks travelling on high speeds. Whereas the Route 40 could be an inter-connectivity road between two city for light motor vehicles only. The weather conditions in both areas might also be different. A glance on how the weather affects both routes provides versatile ground for comparison. One Route may belong to region with inconsistent weather while other may belong to a region with comfortable ambiance. Both Roads might have been subject to different conditions from snow fall, to rainstorm, to high temperatures.

Secondly, There is gap in inventory information. Recent acquisition of state-of-the-art machinery by Appian fails to provide upper hand to Appian roadways, as Good Intentions might be already equipped with such machinery. A new equipment is more susceptible to malfunction than an already in-line one. The operators at Appian may not have any prior knowledge of new machinery which leaves a vulnerability in argument. While Good Intentions could have experienced operators in team. But the argument fails to provide any such contrast.

Moreover, any comparison between quality control managers in both firms is missing. Just having a new guy on job leaves few susceptibility on the quality of job. Typically new people on job may not be aware of assessment methods specific to firm. Raw material composition also varies from firm to firm. Thus this argument fails to give and upper hand to Appian.

Conclusively a detail analysis with predefined list of parameters is needed to compare both the firms on equal grounds.