IN SURVEYS MASON CITY RESIDENTS RANK WATER SPORTS(SWIMMING, BOATING AND FISHING ) AMONG THEIR FAVOURITE RECREATIONAL ACTS.
THE MASON RIVER FLOWING THROUGH THE CITIES IS RARELY USED FOR THESES PURSUITS, HOWEVER, AND THE CITY PARK DEPARTMENT DEVOTES
LITTLE OF ITS BUDGET TO MAINTAINING RIVERSIDES RECREATIONAL FACILITES. FOR YEARS THERE HAVE BEEN COMPLAINTS FROM THE RESIDENTS
ABOUT THE QUALITY OF RIVERS' WATER AND THE RIVER'S SMELL . IN RESPONSE , THE STATE HAS RECENTLY ANNOUNCED PLANS TO CLEAN UP MASON
RIVER. USE OF THE RIVER FOR WATER SPORTS IS, THEREFORE , SURE TO INCREASE. THE CITY GOVERNMENT SHOUILD FOR THAT REASON DEVOTE
MORE MONEY IN THIS YEAR'S BUDGET OF RIVERSIDE RECREATIONAL FACILITES.
While, the state may announce to clean the mason river, clean the water and make it free from smell. It is still unclear
to assume that it will surely increase the water sports activites. The auther's claim that the government should allocate
resource for water sports activities which will be succeful recreational activity in the city is filled with incomplete
premises, evidences with flawed assumptions and wrong considerations.
The main basis for the auther's claims seems to be the survey report. The survey in itself is a different subject and
requires close examination. It is too premature to put the results of survey directly into action without proper scrutinization.
Survey results may depend on various factors such as the questions in the survey, the length of quotianaires, the behaviour
of the people towards the question. For instance, the survey may have contained only two questions whether they liked water
sports or computer games or the sample size may have not been the full representation of the city. For any of the resons the
survey may not be valid. The auther must have infact conducted a detailed process , interviewed various persons from
different backgrounds , field of interests and had contained a variety of options to choose from and then if the water sports
came first the claims would have been valid.
Apart from the survey, one other major defects of the claim seems to be assuming that cleaning the river and making it free
from smells would increase people's interest but, there is no mention of what was the main reason for the offensive smell
in the water. If it was from the industrial waste and dumping; yes the water can be made free of the offesive odours but what
if the smell is natural due the algaes underwater or due to sulphurs or any other natural gases present underneath.In such
cases, no efforts would be fruitful to remove the smell and thus the hope of any water sports event be long-gone. But again,
if the auther had dig up upon the source of pollution and smell and found that it is something curuable the claim would
have been justified.
Deeming, the above mentioned fallacies of survey and odourus smell can somehow be amended: One ther big and major
drawback of the authers' calim lie in considering that the allocation of resources on water sports will surely be proven
beneficial. There is no mention of how much budget is available for the government and what are the priorites and aims.
If the city is lacking in education and health facilities , would it be reasonable to budgeting in recreational activiteis
while the city suffer from diseases and illeteracy. Again, what of the proirities? Every government has some target to
reach and needs backup fund, if the fund is provided to the water activites and does not succed in getting enough profits.