“A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, howev

The author in the given argument opines that government should take an educational initiative to inform users about factors other than not wearing helmets that may lead to bicycle accidents. He buttresses his argument by stating two independent studies that were performed over a time period of two years. In one of the studies, it is observed that almost 80 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets as opposed to 35 percent ten years ago. Another study claims that during the same ten year period accidents caused by bicycling increased 200 percent. At first glance, the author's argument seems to be convincing. However, on further scrutiny one may realize that a number of questions have been left unanswered which make the argument weak and unreasonable.

Firstly, the two studies mentioned by the author were conducted independently. No correlation whatsoever has been mentioned by the author. He has also failed to provide essential details regarding the data set considered. Were the studies conducted for the same nation? It has been stated that the study was conducted nationwide, however, the information collected purely depends on the inputs of the probity of the person in question. It might be possible that since people today feel morally obliged to wear helmets while riding bicycles, they falsely answered "yes" when asked if they wear helmets when riding in contrast to ten years ago.

Moreover, the number of people surveyed has not been mentioned in any of the studies. It is possible that a different number of people were questioned. It is possible that a large number of people used bicycles ten years ago as compared to now. Since, more people were using bicycles ten years ago, the proportion of people actually wearing helmets might be less. It is possible that the number of riders wearing helmets has remained the same however the number of bicyclists have reduced thus taking the proportion of people wearing helmets up as compared to ten years ago.Less number of people using bicycles and most wearing helmets doesn't mean that bicyclists have grown complacent. And since the statistics reported are mere proportions, the credibility of these data cannot be ascertained. Moreover, the lack of wearing helmets by the bicyclists may have actually caused the accidents.

Lastly, the author has failed to mention the traffic conditions while these surveys were performed. It is possible that ten years ago the penetration of automobiles was much less and people preferred to use bicycles. Also, it is possible that no separate lanes for automobiles and cyclists have been created which creates accident-prone conditions. Thus, it might be the case that it is not the bicyclists who are responsible for the accidents but the reckless vehicle drivers. Increase in accidents can also be attributed to the traffic conditions. It is possible that traffic is much heavier now in comparison to ten years ago that may have led to more accidents rather than the bicyclists becoming complacent.

In a nutshell, even though the author has stated several convincing premises to underscore his argument, he fails to provide answers to several crucial questions. He fails to address many essential and pertinent features such as the quantification of the population surveyed, whether traffic conditions were taken into account and other vehicles that may have been indirectly responsible for the accidents. Had the author provided answers to these, his argument would have been more convincing.