Topic 39: A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author concludes that the new Captain Seafood restaurant which only makes seafood should be popular and profitable. To justify this claim, the author points that there are increase in consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants. And he also cites that a nationwide study shows that two-income families more likely to eat outside and they express more concern about health food. The argument sounds logical but, a closer look, it has several flaws.

Firstly, we need the evidence about whether two-income families prefer to eat outside in Bay City. From the national study, we could hardly to assume that two – income families in Bay City is the same as two-income families in whole country. It is possible that two-income families choose the choice that they are more likely to eat at home in this study. Because they may have the tradition of eating at home. Or their incomes are lower than the average income of the whole country, so eating outside is expensive for them. Even the national study may not investigate residents in Bay Cites. It may choose some sample from the whole country. Without knowing the data of the Bay City, we could not make the assessment about the Bay City from the national study. If the author would verify that two-income families more likely to eat outside, his claims may be true. If we find that double incomes family in Bay City tendency to eat at home, it would weaken the argument.

Secondly, we need the evidence about the exact meaning of healthful eating in the study would be help for evaluating the conclusion. From example, the study may ask them if they prefer fruits or vegetables, which are health food. But it may not mention seafood at all. In addition, even people think seafood is healthy food in Bay City, they express more concern about healthy food may not equal to they would eat this kind food. If the author would not provide clear evidence that healthy food means seafood for residents in Bay City, the author’s claims would not be defensible.

Thirdly, we would also need to know if there are competed restaurant in Bay City. It possible that there is a restaurant is famous for seafood, which may attract most consumers. Moreover, it provides other food except seafood, which give more choice for people. Comparing with the new Captain Seafood restaurant, that specializes in seafood, the famous restaurant may be more competed. Without knowing the situation of other competed restaurant in Bay City, the conclusion would be doubtful.

In sum, the argument is not convincing as it stands. To verify the conclusion, the author needs to provide us evidences that the detail data about Bay City in the national study, the meaning of healthful eating, and the situation about competed restaurant in Bay City.