TThe following was used as part of an internet advertising company\'s appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year\'s totals. Furniture Depot\'s success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability.

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument\'s conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

From the first glance at the statement, it may appear that the use of internet service has helped

in profit increment for Furniture Depot. However, upon further analysis we may realize that this is

exactly not true. The fallacious assumption that only the use of internet services has contributed

to increase in sales can easily by countered by alternative explanations for the same. The

possibility of missing out other causative factors can't be ruled out. To begin with, the role of

improved furniture designs in attracting younger and more vibrant crowd needs to be considered.

There might be a possibility that the company for long was selling anachronistic

furniture,however came to realization that a change in product strategy was the need of the hour.

With improved and sophisticated designs, their sales increased as it possibly attracted a larger

crowd.

Another possibility is that the store relocated to a commercial zone which attracts thousands of

consumers everyday. With a greater footfall of individuals in a newer location, there is always a

chance of improved sale assuming that their products are of good quality and affordable to the

community where they exist.

Thirdly, nowhere is the role other extraneous factors such as enhanced offline publicity through

advertorials in newspapers and magazines of mass circulation, or the role of customers bonafide

have been taken into consideration. Even the possibility of increment in furniture type that caters

to wide array of customers over the previously existing stock that catered to a few can't be ruled

out.

Fourthly, the possibility of growing brand image over a period of time which might have

strengthened the communities belief in that particular brand. One simply doesn't know how long

was the Furniture Depot business in the market to come to a judgement that the internet services

aided in its rapid growth. Marked with a possibility that the company was existing in the market

for long, and the use of internet services came at the point when its business saw its natural

course of sudden rise, one can't obtain a conclusive proof on the positive role of the internet

services in aiding the business.

Lastly, a percentage increase in sales in no way indicates an increase in the number of furniture

items sold. If the inventory stock another year before was larger than the previous year stock,

there is possibility of substantial decrease in percentage sales even though the number of items

sold were far more. Simply put, percentage increase is never a correct indicator of increase in

any quantity and the base quantity should be clearly mentioned before coming to such a

conclusion.

To sum up, the argument is marred by larger complexities which weaken its stance. Requirement

of more data to substantiate the claims in needed to fully understand the impact of internet

service provider in aiding the Furniture depot's business. Only if there is sufficient data to indicate

how the internet advertising company solely assisted in improvement of business, can we come

to a conclusion of its role in increasing a company's profitability.