Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn an optimistic conclusion, from disjointed and incomplete data, that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, a future researcher should conduct the study through an interview-centered method.

In the given argument, a significant lacuna is an unjustified assumption that the present situation on the island of Tertia is the same as twenty years ago. The way of parenting likely changed in the last twenty years, and people of Tertia adopted the new way. Hence, when Dr. Field visited the island, children were reared by an entire village, but now maybe children are raising by their biological parents. So, it is not feasible to conclude that Dr. Filed's theory and conclusion about Tertian village is invalid. Moreover, it would be unreasonable to assume that Dr. Karp's and Dr. Field's target audience is the same. Because in the argument, there is no evidence presented which concludes that both anthropologist's audience is of the same group. Maybe the island is vast, and there are many different types of culture peoples living. Thus, if both anthropologists evaluated different types of culture's people, then both are correct in their ways. Therefore the assumption that future anthropologists should conduct research based on the interview-centered method proves unwarranted.

Another gap is that the writer unfairly assumes that if the children spent more time talking about their biological parents suggests they raised by their biological parents. It is highly probable that children never know about their biological parents, and that is the reason they talk about them as they want to know more about their biological parents. Moreover, the writer does not present which questions asked to the child during the interview. At the same time, it is highly probable that children could not understand Dr. Karp's language and responded incorrectly. Consequently, Dr. Field prefers the observation method rather than questioning, which may imply that peoples of the Tertia are not able to understand the outsider language. Thus, the assertion made by Dr. Karp regarding Dr. Field's conclusion falls apart. Also, the writer's recommendations regarding the interview-centered method do not hold.

All things considering, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of the complete absence of the evidence needed. There are questions regarding Dr. Field's and Dr. Karp's study group, language used by the Tertian people, and changes done since the last twenty years at Tertian island need to be answered to make the argument more promising. However, no convincing reasoning is given. The argument ends with an entirely optimistic conclusion based on the wishy-washy observations that are likely to be incorrect.