Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observation that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in group of islands that included Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertia village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument claims that Dr. Field's deduction about Tertia village is not valid and thus the observation-centered approach followed by him to study the cultures is also invalid. The author also argues that the interview-centered method will establish a much more accurate understanding of child rearing traditions then observation-centered method. The line of reasoning presented in the argument is flawed since the author has made several unsubstantiated assumptions and has provided incomplete evidences.

Citing interviews of children living in the group of islands that include Tertia, the author reports that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents instead of other adults in the village. The term used by the author is too vague. Talking more about their biological parents does not mean they are reared by their parents. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of that interview. For instance it might be possible that the interview questions are more dedicated towards parents of the children rather than other adults in the village. It might be possible that the interview does not represent the majority, or perhaps the number of children in the interview from Tertia is far more less than the children from other group of islands. Unless the interview is fully representative, valid, and reliable, it cannot be used to effectively back the author points.

Moreover, the author of the argument compares Dr. Field’s observation approach with his interviews approach and fails to provide any clear justification that approach used by Dr. Field was dubious or invalid. It may be possible that both approaches conclude to different conclusions, or possibly the approach used by the author is flawed. The argument would have been stronger had it provided more information regarding how Dr. Field's had observed the Tertia Island twenty years ago.

In addition, the author of this argument also makes a tragic assumption by supposing that interview-centered approach that his team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will provide more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in Tertia and other islands. It may be possible that the collection method of data is wrong and may be the data is not correct. Furthermore, if it is assumed that it provides accurate results in Tertia it is not necessary that it will provide the same result in other islands as well. It may be possible that children of the other islands do not answer the interview questions honestly. This is the major flaw in the argument and should be at least acknowledged by the author, perhaps improved upon by implementing a normed interview asking wide range of questions from children of Tertia and other islands as well.

To sum up, the argument in its current state does not make up a cogent case because of its weak evidences and unreliable assumptions made by the author. The author needs to provide more information and clarify the above stated assumptions to strengthen his argument.