"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument claims that in order to sell home quickly at good price, one should prefer Adams Realty over Fitch Realty. However, the underlying assumptions that the author used are rife with flaws.

To begin with, author states that Adams Realty is better than Fitch Realty because Adams has more real estate agents, 40 in comparison to just 25 of Fitch, and also most of the Fitch's agents are part time workers. However, this fact cannot be taken as a face value to belittle Fitch Realty. Number of agent doesn't matter much in selling property, what matters most is their ability to sell and their networking skills. It is very much possible that the Fitch's agents have more connections in comparison to the Adam's agents as they are working part-time and thus are engaged in other profession as well where they might be meeting more people. Thus, they will be having relations with more people which is utterly indispensable to sell property.

Second, author used last year revenue to bolster his point. Although, figures do represent to some extent the soundness of a business but there in no mention that whether the sales of each increased or decreased in comparison to their own last year status. Chances are, Fitch's revenue might have increased and Adam's might have decreased. Just because Adam's revenue is more this year, no way reinforce the fact that he is better than Fitch. Also, just one year figure can't be used to prove someone superior than other.

Furthermore, author mentioned a case in which he listed a house with Fitch ten years ago and a similar case last year with Adam. He claims that since, his home was sold faster with Adam in comparison to Fitch, so, Adam is superior. This claim doesn't seems to be cogent. Situation ten years from now can be different from last year. Maybe, at that time property market was down or economy was slow or some recession was there. In fact, there can be numerous possibilities. So, simply comparing the time needed to sold properties last year and ten years ago is not a healthy point to prove that Adam is better than Fitch.

To sum up, the different claims put by the author are glutted with flaws. Different point put by the author need more evidence and details in order to prove the well-roundedness of his argument that Adam is better than Fitch.