Two years ago radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that in broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP’s recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

The author of the issue states that for increasing the number of audiences in the listening area the station manager of KICK radio station recommends that there should be more call-in advice programs, as it is because two years ago, WCQP radio station did the same and raised its share of radio audience significantly. In addition, the author refers to a nationwide survey in which it is indicated that many radio listeners are interested in such programs. The recommendation can not be accepted because it rests on a number of premises for support of which some questions are to be answered.

The first problem is that the author does not indicate that how many audiences the listening area had at first and how many had been added to this number. Maybe the WCQP lacked any interesting programs and call-in advice programs were the only people could listen to and no other programs were to be chosen. Therefore, increasing the number of call-in advice programs resulted in an abruptly increase in radio audiences.

The other problem is that the author refers to a nationwide survey in which it has been shown that people were interested in such programs, however, the author does not state how many people had been considered in this survey. As you know, the greater the number of people in a survey or research, the more reliable the results would be. In addition, in a survey it is of great importance to include all factors such as age, sex, cultural class and etc; however, in this argument the author does not mention anything about none of these factors. Maybe the people in Rockville, where WCQP radio station is located, are suffering from the economical condition and call-in advice programs is a way to relieve themselves through expressing their problems and receiving appeasing responses.

In sum, the recommendation of the manager of the KICK station can not be taken to be correct, because as it was mentioned in the body paragraphs, it depends on a number of questions each of which should be answered. The recommendation can be accepted only if the weaknesses referred to above are all removed.