Two years ago, radio station WCQP in RockVille decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the RockVille listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in suh programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain larger audience share in its listening area.

+The station manager of KICK radio in Medway recommends that the radio station should implement more call-in advice programs to gain a larger audience share due to the success of the WCQP radio station in Rockville, from two years ago, which then decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs. At first glance this recommendation looks proper and founded, but analyzing it more in depth, it shows lack of basic information and flaws in argumentation.

Firstly, the success among listeners with increasing the number of call-in programs of WCQP radio station was 2 years ago. The author does not provide information about the listeners requirements of then and now regarding call-in programs. It can be possible that 2 years ago there weren't much programs of this type, and this new idea caught up very quickly. Or it might be as well true that in the area of broadcasting of WCQP there was no other radio station with this type of program and that's why it was so succesful. The author should provide substantial data and hard proof regarding these aspects to really base his recommendation.

Secondly, there is no information about the area of broadcasting of KICK radio regarding its listeners age, the quality of network and sound, other competitor radio stations in the area, etc. All this data should have been mentioned as important foundaments of the recommendation. Are there any other radio stations in the broadcasting area of KICK radio? If there are, do those radio stations have this type of call-in program? If yes, it might be that listeners are not interested in a likewise program, or they are not interested in this type of radio program at all. Surveys should been made among radio listeners of all ages, with explicit questions about this issue, to have an overall look about this question and decide whether it is feasable or not including more call-in programs in the radio's program.

Thirdly, the author mentiones a nationwide survey which indicates that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs. This again is a not well-founded argument since lacks important information like the number of radio listeners surveyed, the broadcast area of the radios these people listen to, their ages, etc. Surveyed people may have shown interest regarding call-in programs, but there is no data mentioned about the number of listeners questioned. It may have been just a small number in comparison with the total number of listeners, or they all might have been living in only a few broadcasting areas from the total areas in the country, or the majority might have been retired persons, who do enjoy these programs in contrast with younger listeners, who may not be interested in call-in programs. All this data is not mentioned in the recommendation thus weakening the author's argument.

In conclusion this recommendation needs further supporting evidence and specific data and numbers regarding the inclusion of more call-in programs on KICK radio, the results of this extention and the needs of its listeners to this type of program in order to properly be substantiated. The author has to make a proper documenatation and present it along with more proof for to this recommendation be considered strong based.