Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is debatable whether universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Although, some people consider it is a waste of time. I certainly agree with this policy.

Firstly, studying the other fields will give you a boarder understanding of your subject. For instance, both chemistry and physics are considered molecules as one of their subject. Nevertheless, they approach the same subject from different angles. When studying these smallest parts of substances from two sides, you will have a full understanding of them.

Secondly, with the booming development in most of the fields including science, economic and others. We observe more and more achievement attained when combined two or more fields of study. Bioinformatics is one of the most successful examples. With a huge of amount of information contained in humans gene, it is impossible to manually analyze the function of each gene segment.

Admittedly, it is a waste of your time and resource if you can not find anything related to your own field of study or learning more than you need. However, it is a problem of planning and your tutor can help to find the suitable courses for you.

In conclusion, although it can have a negative effect, I strongly aver that the policy is useful even can open new opportunities for us due to the reasons mentioned above.